top of page

Historical Stats

Archived Seasons

2015 NSSBL Champions  

Darmouth Moosehead Dry 

2016 NSSBL Champions  

Darmouth Moosehead Dry 

2013 NSSBL Champion Sydney Sooners honored at QMJHL's Cape Breton Screaming Eagles game. 

2013 NSSBL Champions  

Sydney Sooners 

05/31/18: Dartmouth center fielder Chris Head takes ball one for the Dry at Beazley Field.  

08/06/18: Nova Scotia Mariners Win

Over-35 National Baseball Championship

The Nova Scotia Mariners defeated the Woodslee Orioles, of Ontario, 9-0 to capture the 2018 Over-35 National Baseball Championship. Played in Charlottetown, PEI, the Mariners took top honors in the national tournament on the strength of solid defence and pitching. Nova Scotia's roster featured a number of NSSBL players, past and present, congratulations to those involved. 

* Cory Christie 

* John Chapman

* Jeff Chisholm

* Jeff Reeves

* Sheldon MacDonald

* Ian Lockhart

* Mike Lockhart

* Adam Lucas

* Darson Murphy

* Mark Haverstock

* Todd Parker

* Guy Pellerine

* Scott Baillie

National 35 Champs.jpg

Burton Russell - 2017 Susan McEachern Award 

The NSSBL is pleased to recognize Burton Russell as our Susan McEachern Award winner for the 2017 season. This distinction is awarded annually to a volunteer who has made significant contributions to the NSSBL. Mr. Russell was selected as the winner following the 2017 season and formally presented with the Susan McEachern Award on July 21st, 2018, in his hometown of Kentville, Nova Scotia.

 Russell, in his 30th year as NSSBL statistician, continues to perform an integral role in the sporting lives of many Nova Scotians. Author of several books detailing the history of sport in Nova Scotia, the NSSBL is honored to have a gentleman of Mr. Russell's standing as a valuable member of the Nova Scotia Senior Baseball League community. 

07/21/18: Burton Russell accepts the 2017 Susan McEachern Award from Sydney Sooners coach Jim McEachern. 

1985 Kentville Wildcats: members of the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, the Kentville Wildcats won the 1985 Canadian Men's National Baseball Championship. The Wildcats of '85 undertook an impressive comeback to win the national championship by overcoming a 6-0 deficit in the 9th inning. Played in front of 5000 fans in Kentville, the Wildcats took the lead in the top of the 9th and held off Ontario in the bottom half of the inning to capture the title. The '85 Wildcats were the first team from Nova Scotia to win the Canadian Men's National Baseball Championship. 

Congratulations to Jason Bailey & Trevor Zwaan on having their numbers retired by the Dartmouth Moosehead Dry - a well deserved honor. 07/18


bottom of page